PROJECT ATRIUM: CARL JOE WILLIAMS

 

In Making Great Lives Matter, Carl Joe Williams, a New Orleans- based multimedia artist, presents a large-scale project that considers the idea of the American Dream. In the Atrium, Williams' signature vibrant and rhythmic geometric patterns, inspired by African American quilt patterns and ancient sacred geometry, cover the 40ft high Atrium walls. Embedded throughout are objects and power symbols, including Adinkra symbols from West Africa; the American flag, and Confederate flag; as well as ancient symbols adopted by supremacist groups in the 20th century; all woven together to form a historical backdrop for the televisions and video monitors in the lower tiers.

The televisions feature harrowing newsreel footage of injustice, including the death of George Floyd that shook the country in May of 2020. The lower tier of videos features members of the Jacksonville community providing answers to a series of questions posed by the artist that explore their own perspectives on the American Dream.

 

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Saturday, January 23
  • Sunday, January 24
  • Tuesday, January 26
  • Wednesday, January 27
  • Thursday, January 28
  • Friday, January 29
  • Saturday, January 30
  • Sunday, January 31
  • Tuesday, February 2
  • Wednesday, February 3
  • Thursday, February 4
  • Friday, February 5
  • Saturday, February 6
  • Sunday, February 7
  • Tuesday, February 9
  • Wednesday, February 10
  • Thursday, February 11
  • Friday, February 12
  • Saturday, February 13
  • Sunday, February 14
  • Tuesday, February 16
  • Wednesday, February 17
  • Thursday, February 18
  • Friday, February 19
  • Saturday, February 20
  • Sunday, February 21
  • Tuesday, February 23
  • Wednesday, February 24
  • Thursday, February 25
  • Friday, February 26
  • Saturday, February 27
  • Sunday, February 28
  • Tuesday, March 2
  • Wednesday, March 3
  • Thursday, March 4
  • Friday, March 5
  • Saturday, March 6
  • Sunday, March 7
Local Business
  • Location: Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville
  • 333 North Laura Street
  • Jacksonville, Florida 32202

open Google Maps